Lucero announce new album and share new single

Lucero-Leadpressimage2020PhotocreditBobBaynelo-9900000000079e3c (1).jpgLucero-Leadpressimage2020PhotocreditBobBaynelo-9900000000079e3c (1).jpg

Album release: 29th January 2021
Cadillac Records
More info:
Lucero’s website

Acclaimed rock/alt-country quintet Lucero is gearing up to release When You Found Me on January 29, 2021 (Liberty and Lament/Thirty Tigers) .

Lucero reunites with Grammy Award winner Matt Ross-Spang (Jason Isbell, Margo Price, Drive-by Truckers) who produced their 2018 acclaimed album Among The Ghosts. When You Found Me was recorded in the band’s hometown of Memphis, TN at the historic Sam Phillips Recording Studio.

Listen to intense first track “Outrun The Moon” HERE. When You Found Me finds Lucero founder Ben Nichols lyrically ruminating on family, while the band continues to evolve musically after 20 plus years. When You Found Me finds the group tapping into a more atmospheric widescreen vision, while expanding on their sound with heavier rock sonics. The use of keyboard player Rick Steff’s extensive collection of vintage synthesizers conjures an aural world of classic tracks with a firm foot in the present.

Nichols, Steff and bandmates Brian Venable (guitar), Roy Berry (drums) and
John C. Stubblefield (bass) uphold the urgency of past Lucero releases, while moving forward in both sound, writing and texture. Watch the video for “Outrun The Moon”, featuring art by Nichols himself.

Opening track “Have You Lost Your Way” resembles an adult version of Little Red Riding Hood, as Nichols channels the bedtime stories he reads to his daughter. “Outrun the Moon” continues the third person narrative, as the protagonist is a young girl running away from an uncertain future. “Coffin Nails” tells the story of Nichols’ grandfather dealing with the death of his own father, a veteran of World War 1. “Back in Ohio” is a raucous foot stomper, written
about the incredulous true story of William Morgan from Ohio, who fought alongside Cuban rebels to help them win the Cuban Revolution. The final song on the album, “When You Found Me,” is the bookend, bringing Lucero’s story
full circle on a record that begins with “Have You Lost Your Way.”

Nichols says, “I’m not sure how much longer I would’ve been around if it wasn’t for my wife and daughter and the family I have now,” Nichols says. “I feel like they saved me, and they keep saving me every day.”

For over two decades, Lucero has made their mark as a hard-working band, mixing heartfelt lyrics with the sounds of early rock and roll, classic punk, country-folk and deep-fried Southern soul. They have delivered their powerhouse sound night after night to legions of fans across the country, providing adrenaline-charged shows in a communal atmosphere.

With When You Found Me it is clear that Lucero has earned their rightful place in the annals of Southern Rock musical heroes.


Lucero – When You Found Me album artwork | Download image HERE

Lucero – When You Found Me album track listing

1. Have You Lost Your Way
2. Outrun The Moon
3. Coffin Nails
4. Pull Me Close Don’t Let Go
5. Good As Gone
6. All My Life
7. The Match
8. Back In Ohio
9. A City Of Fire
10. When You Found Me

Lucero: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube | Spotify

More information

If you would like some more information about this release, or would like to contact us about interview opportunities / review copies, just contact us via our press enquiries form.

Subscribe to our press releases

You can click here to subscribe to our press releases – we’ll send you a weekly digest of all our latest releases.