You are here
Home > REVIEWS > ALBUM REVIEWS > Music Review-Purson-“Desire’s Magic Theatre”

Music Review-Purson-“Desire’s Magic Theatre”


1. Desires Magic Theatre (6:11)
2. Electric Landlady (3:53)
3. Dead Dodo Down (3:10)
4. Pedigree Chums (3:58)
5. The Sky Parade (5:16)
6. The Window Cleaner (3:28)
7. The Way It Is (2:42)
8. Mr. Howard (4:08)
9. I Know (4:21)
10. The Bitter Suite (7:11)

Rosalie Cunningham – Vocals, Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Percussion
Raphael Mura – Drums George Hudson – Electric Guitar (on tracks 2, 7, 8)
Justin Smith – Bass (on track 7)
Jon Seagroatt – Saxophone and Flute Anna Scott – Cello

Review-Rosalie Cunningham has this pop like delivery that makes her voice both memorable and expressive. Purson’s sophomore album, let’s just say if you were not a fan before, this record and what this band showcases is going to win you over. The band has this odd mixture of prog with psych, metal and an odd folk. The music is inviting and will draw you in, but you are going to journey into a bleak darkness that while fun at times, is so beautifully experimental. This is a very interesting album for the simple fact, you really never know where the music will take you. One minute you have the catchy poppy fuzzed out “ Electric Landlady” and then the next minute you have “ The Sky Parade” that has that feel of a moment that contains this epic sound. “ I Know” is their ballad that is going to keep people humming along. Songs like “ I Know”, make me wish upon a video music show or college radio that do not have agendas. That song on any platform would win people over. It is that song that reminds you of a time when music was simple, and bands wanted to entertain you, not sell you an image or something they are not fully behind. This is a band who compliment their lead singer and make her vocals come across as beautiful and breathtaking. This record is something that fans of the late 60’s and early 70’s like Janis, or Jefferson Airplane or dare i say Helen Ready, will really dig what this band is performing. I will say this, there is no longer a sophomore slump. Purson are only getting better and starting to explore themselves more and more musically. This record is a very good example of when passion and heart get in a studio. Great band, with a huge future ahead of them.

8.5 out of 10

error: Content is protected !!